Site №2 of the Museum Complex
The branch of the Patriot Park, the Central Museum of Armored weapons and armored materiel, is a national treasure, unique, in many ways the best collection of armored vehicles — the museum is known all over the world.
In August 2018, the museum turned 80 years old. Throughout the years, the museum has kept unique samples of armored vehicles, on which the best testers and tank designers used and tested the latest weapons and designs, which, of course, made a huge contribution to the development of world tank industry.
The sophisticated visitor will be able to follow the flight of engineering and design ideas into a “living” by the example of the presented exhibits of transitional models and unique samples created in a single copy. The young generation and the wide audience will be interested to see with their own eyes weapons and equipment from 14 countries, such as the T-35 tank, the missile tank, the SAU-100U, the Pz-VIII Maus tank, the Karl mortar who participated in the storming Brest Fortress in 1941 and the suppression of the Warsaw Uprising of 1944
Interest in the museum and the technology presented in it is huge. The museum, in 2016, was visited by more than 180 thousand people, including foreign citizens from more than 34 countries of the world.
Internal areas of the object
The Central Museum of Armored weapons and armored materiel is a branch of “Patriot” park and it is closely connected with the history of domestic and world tank industry. It contains a rich collection of historical, unique and best samples of armored weapons and armored materiel, both domestic and foreign production.
For a long time, the Museum was a structural unit of a research test armored test site. Many of the samples that were tested on it were included in the Museum collection.
The sources of museum receipts for foreign-made vehicles are varied: some tanks were purchased by the Soviet Union abroad during the formation of the domestic tank building industry; equipment supplied to the Red Army for the Land-Lease; trophies of the period of war and military conflicts of the second half of the XX century; vehicles that replenished the collection as a result of search works and inter-museum exchange.
Short list of excursions
- “Soviet armor” is an excursion devoted to the history of the development of domestic tank industry from the first production vehicles - light tanks MS-1 to modern main battle tanks T-80.
- “Worthy T-34 Heritors” - visitors will get acquainted with the history of the development of domestic armored vehicles and infantry and airborne combat vehicles on the example of our museum exhibits.
- “Foreign armored vehicles of fascist Germany, Great Britain, and the USA. Domestic armored vehicles: heavy, medium and main battle tanks ”-The tour will acquaint you with the formidable technology of the USSR and Germany during the war period: the legendary Thirty-Four, heavy IS-2, Panther, mortar Karl, the world's heaviest tank “Maus "and with the allied armored vehicle collection.
- “Tanks of the Second World War” Visitors will get acquainted with the armored vehicles of ten countries of the world that took part in the Second World War.
- “Land-Lease tanks” - Original “Tetrarchs”, the best cruiser tanks of Great Britain “Cromwell” and “Comet”, the flamethrower “Churchill”, the most massive tanks of the USA in the period of the Second World War - “Stewarts” and “Shermans” are represented in this tours.
Excursion programs are designed for different age groups.
History of the site№ 2 of the “Patriot” Park Museum Complex
In accordance with paragraph 2 of the Decree of the Defense Committee under the Council of People's Commissars of August 1, 1938 No. 180 "On the use of the old non-serial types of tanks available in the Red Army," the Military Vehicle.
Museum of the Red Army started its history. The museum was created to familiarize with samples of domestic and foreign tank industry scientists, designers and students of military academies, as well as for the patriotic education of the soldiers of the Red Army.
The main work on the replenishment and design of the museum as a scientific and educational center began in 1944, when the collection was replenished with trophy technology.
Until 1972, the materiel of the museum, covered with tarpaulins, was located in an open area. In the early 1970s, pavilions were built, which were typical tank vaults of combat vehicles where the collection was located. On September 10, 1972, the Museum was opened for visiting to representatives of the Ministry of Defense, research organizations and design bureaus.
In 1996, the museum was removed from the composition of the 38 Research Institute of the Ministry of Defense of the Russian Federation in a separate state and was open to the public.
The museum covers an area of more than 12 hectares. There are buildings in which the administration, conference room, library and archive are located.
The work of the museum is carried out in accordance with the principles of science, completeness of the collection, an integrated approach to the selection and placement of exhibits, consistency, clarity, historical accuracy.
Conducting research, awareness-raising and military-patriotic activities, documenting various aspects of the history of the development of armored weapons and military equipment, stages of life and activities of outstanding military leaders, national heroes; acquisition, accounting, storage, study of monuments of domestic and foreign military history and culture are the main objectives of the museum.